The Johanna-Mestorf-Academy joins expertise from a wide range of disciplines, as represented by 16 institutes from five CAU Faculties, the Schloss Gottorf Archaeological State Museum, and the Center of Baltic and Scnadinavian Archaeology (ZBSA).
Currently the staff of the JMA consists of 25 Principal Investigators, an additional 22 Investigators, 14 scientists and a substantial number of non-scientific members of the participating institutes, three Junior Professors, a Scientific Coordinator, and three postdoctoral fellows. The School’s organisational structure ensures cross-institutional and autonomous decisions while being fully embedded within the existing university structures.

Executive Commitee Members:


Speaker:                                                                            Prof. Dr. Johannes Müller
Speaker for SECC:                                                             Prof. Dr. Lutz Käppel
Dean of the Faculty of Humanities:                                      Prof. Dr. Andreas Bihrer                                   
Dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences:                             Prof. Dr. Frank Kempken
Four representatives of the Cluster of Excellence ROOTS:    Prof. Dr. Annette Haug
                                                                                       Prof. Dr. Lutz Käppel
                                                                                       Prof. Dr. Johannes Müller
For the ROOTS Young Academy:                                      Dr. Mara Weinelt
Three representatives of the CRC 1266:                              Dr. Daniel Gross
                                                                                      Prof. Dr. Wiebke Kirleis
                                                                                      Dr. Jutta Kneisel

Advisory Board:

Prof. Dr. Reinhold Bichler, Institut für Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik der Universität Innsbruck.
Dr. Simon Haberle, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University
Prof. Dr. Andreas Lang, Department of Geography, University of Liverpool
Prof. Dr. Pierre Monnet, Institut Français d’Histoire en Allemagne, Frankfurt/ Main
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hermann Parzinger, Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz
Prof. Dr. Stephen Shennan, Institute of Archaeology, University College of London
Prof. Dr. Helle Vandkilde, Department of Anthropology, Archaeology and Linguistics, University of Aarhus